St Mary’s and St Nicholas’ Churches are two very different, beautiful churches. This parish encompasses the villages of Shackleford and Peper Harow and was formed in 1985 by the merger of the two ecclesiastical parishes of St Mary’s Shackleford and St Nicholas’ Peper Harow.
Both churches are of great historical and architectural interest and are an integral and beautiful feature of the landscape of our villages. The churches are a rich and living inheritance which we have a responsibility to preserve and pass on to future generations if possible.
St Mary’s in Shackleford was built in 1867 and is the larger of the churches, often used for concerts, presentations and talks. Services are held here for St Mary’s Patronal Festival, Remembrance, Messy Church, Christmas and Easter.
St Nicholas’ in Peper Harow has been a parish church since 1301 and is the smallest of our churches. It is a gem of a church which underwent 4 years of restoration following a significant fire in the early hours of Christmas morning 2007. It now offers the most flexibility in terms of seating and uses the most eco-friendly heating of all our churches. A sung Holy Communion service is held every second and fourth Sunday of each month at 10.30am.